mirror of
https://github.com/beekeeper-studio/beekeeper-studio.git
synced 2026-03-13 10:12:54 +08:00
78 lines
3.0 KiB
Markdown
78 lines
3.0 KiB
Markdown
---
|
|
title: Security & Privacy
|
|
summary: Configuration and features to give you more control of your Beekeeper Studio install
|
|
icon: material/security
|
|
---
|
|
|
|
Beekeeper offers several features designed to help you manage the privacy of your session, secure your environment, or enforce security settings for all users.
|
|
|
|
|
|
## Security Settings
|
|
|
|
Beekeeper Studio has several security settings
|
|
|
|
{% ini-include section="security" %}
|
|
|
|
### PIN Lock Mode
|
|
|
|
Enabling PIN lock mode requires any Beekeeper Studio user to enter a pin code before connecting to a database. Combine this setting with auto disconnect for extra security.
|
|
|
|
!!! warning "Don't forget your PIN"
|
|
If you forget your PIN, the only way to recover it is by deleting your local installation, or disabling PIN mode entirely.
|
|
|
|
#### Reset Steps (if you forget your pin)
|
|
|
|
1. **Close Beekeeper Studio completely**
|
|
|
|
2. **Delete the application data directory**:
|
|
- **Windows**: `%APPDATA%\beekeeper-studio\`
|
|
- **macOS**: `~/Library/Application Support/beekeeper-studio/`
|
|
- **Linux**: `~/.config/beekeeper-studio/`
|
|
|
|
3. **Restart Beekeeper Studio** - it will start fresh with default settings
|
|
|
|
|
|
### Enterprise Security Recommendations
|
|
|
|
To enforce security settings on all Beekeeper Studio users you can deploy an administrator configuration file (`system.config.ini`) (see [Configuration docs](./configuration.md) for reference)
|
|
|
|
1. Create an ini file
|
|
2. enable `lockMode = pin`.
|
|
3. Enable all 3 auto-disconnect options with reasonable timeouts
|
|
4. Deploy this config file to the 'administrator configuration' location for your OS (see above)
|
|
|
|
This forces all users to set a PIN on first load of the app, requires pin entry when connecting to a database, and disconnects users when their system is locked, suspended, or idle.
|
|
|
|
|
|
## Privacy Mode
|
|
|
|
Beekeeper Studio provides a Privacy Mode that hides sensitive data when you're sharing your screen, so you can keep private information private.
|
|
|
|
While hovering the Sidebar, you can see the "Toggle Privacy Mode" button, represented with an eye.
|
|
Clicking this button will toggle the Privacy Mode On/Off.
|
|
|
|
| Privacy Mode Off | Privacy Mode On |
|
|
| - | - |
|
|
|| |
|
|
| Fig.1 Button Off | Fig.2 Button On |
|
|
|
|
### What Gets Hidden?
|
|
|
|
Privacy Mode hides some fields that might be considered as sensitive:
|
|
- Host / Port / DB in Saved Connections
|
|
- Pop-up with the full URL on Hover
|
|
- Host / Port / DB in Connection Settings
|
|
- URL when hovering over the DB name after connecting
|
|
|
|
| Hidden Host / Port / DB in Saved Connections | The pop-up with the full URL on Hover |
|
|
|-|-|
|
|
| | |
|
|
| Fig.3 - Hidden Feature 1 | Fig.4 - Hidden Feature 2 |
|
|
|
|
| Host / Port / DB in Connection Settings | URL when hovering over the DB name after connecting |
|
|
| - | - |
|
|
| |  |
|
|
| Fig.5 - Hidden Feature 3 | Fig.6 - Hidden Feature 4 |
|
|
|
|
|